Greetings from the Roman Frontier

Claudia Severa to her Lepidina greetings.
On 11 September, sister,

for the day of the celebration
of my birthday, I give you

a warm invitation to make sure
that you come to us, to make the day

more enjoyable for me by your arrival,
if you are present. Give my greetings to your Cerialis.

My Aelius and my little son send
him their greetings. I shall expect you, sister.

Farewell, sister, my dearest soul,
as I hope to prosper, and hail.

To Sulpicia Lepidina,
wife of Cerialis, from Severa.

Source: Wooden tablet found near Hadrian’s Wall, (AD 97-105) in a building that may have been the praetorium, the Commander’s house
Tab. Vindol. II 291,


 

Leave a Reply

